Remembering Nona and Sadie

My living relatives from my mother’s side told me about two women they shared memories of from their childhood, Aunt “Nona’ and Aunt “Sadie.”  I began searching for the two and found Nora V Donohue living with Johanna Donahue Taber and husband Edward Taber. She was documented as the sister-in-law of Edward Taber and was a nurse at a private hospital. Also living in the household was Charles Donahue, Johanna’s father.

I was excited that I found this information, but who was Sadie? Well I have decided that Sadie is Sarah Donahue since many Sarah’s were called Sadie. Finding records has been nearly impossible. In 1920 Charles Donahue, Johanna, Nora, and Sarah’s father worked at a cotton mill, he was widowed. I have had a difficult time finding records on Charles’ wife. Her name has been hard to find much less track.

This morning I found… finally… Johanna, Nora V, and Sarah on the same census page living in the same household with mother Florence Donahue. Also there was Charles Donahue, Florence’s’ son. They were living at 1 Wall Street in Westerly Town of Washington, Rhode Island. It is a fantastic find and other Tabers including Isabella Hay Taber from Scotland, Johanna’s mother-in-law lived in the same area. Could this Florence Donahue be my 3rd great grandmother? By the way I was told that Donahue spoken sounds like “Dona-hay” not “Dona-who.”

So Florence worked in a cotton mill as did Johanna and Nora. She was age 55 in 1910. If I have this right Florence died before 1920, because Charles, her would be husband was a widow in 1920. This also brings to question where Charles was in 1910 and what happened to Charles Jr? As researching goes this will take some digging! But it is the closets I’ve come to finding the history of Johanna born in Massachusetts as her father Charles was, his parents born in Ireland as was his wife and her parents.

This all started with, “I remember Aunt Nona and Aunt Sadie.”

About Ann Simpson

Ann Simpson lives in Falmouth, Virginia near the Civil War Battlegrounds of Historic Fredericksburg. Most of her paranormal writing takes place in the early morning before the family wakes and the spirits rest. She loves to write and read paranormal mysteries, suspense and drama. Book one of the Dark Guests Series, The Genealogist's Guests, was published in October 2013. Ann is currently writing book two, of which she may title, Megan's Heritage, sounds great...I just came up with it. I think I'll keep it!

Posted on October 21, 2011, in Family Stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

