Endless Searching

I’ve been missing in the blog world lately but not from the world of ancestry records. Hours and pages of the United States Census records from 1880 through 1920 just about sent me to another world. The world of fiction. Yes, I’m thinking about the fiction world as the National Novel Writing Month nears. I haven’t decided as of yet to enter. I thought I would commit to a Post a Day here on WordPress but didn’t have the focus since I’ve been back in time, in Alexandria, Virginia.

My mission is to settle my heart and curiosity once and for all. The current records I have on Virgie Marie Strider Simpson, my great grandmother, does not satisfy my ideal of factual evidence. Basically I’m not happy until everything adds up to be absolutely connected without any variables making my fact finding and my story of relatives impossible, or untrue.

As of now I have Virgie  as the daughter of James Strider, the son of Capt. James Strider. But an obituary of junior states that he left a young bride but no children in 1897. Odd, Virgie was born in 1893. This bit of information has sent me to search the census of all Simpsons, Striders, Wells, Beaches’, Schoeni’s, Padgettes, and any other surname related to Virgie.

I have to find the missing link of Virgie’s past. She was a Strider before marrying my great grandfather. So I have been intruding in all the Strider’s, and other households from 1880 until 1920. I will find the answer. She first appeared in 1910 as Marie Wells, living in the household of her grandparents, Jos W and Mary Beach.  Then ten years later, 1910, as Marie Strider at age 16, with stepfather Henry T Barden.

Her mother Mary J also lived in both residences, first as wife of Clarence Wells and in 1910 as wife of Henry Barden. It wasn’t unusual back then for young girls to marry early but Virgie would have been four years old when James Strider died. This leads me to assume there was a third James Strider a son of the James who fell off the roof. Maybe.

Most records haven’t lead to such a mystery for me. Sometimes its a good idea to back away, search another ancestor, take a break, or escape the real and sink into fiction. Depends on how long I want to be nagged by the question, did Virgie marry very young, at 16 to another man before my great grandfather?

About Ann Simpson

Ann Simpson lives in Falmouth, Virginia near the Civil War Battlegrounds of Historic Fredericksburg. Most of her paranormal writing takes place in the early morning before the family wakes and the spirits rest. She loves to write and read paranormal mysteries, suspense and drama. Book one of the Dark Guests Series, The Genealogist's Guests, was published in October 2013. Ann is currently writing book two, of which she may title, Megan's Heritage, sounds great...I just came up with it. I think I'll keep it!

Posted on October 16, 2011, in Family Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

