My Search

I can’t pinpoint how I got here. But I’ve spent many hours searching the past. I read, most likley, on Ancestry.com that to begin, you start with what you know. So I did. I asked family members about their parents and grandparents. I listened to stories of their childhood. I walked cemeteries and took pictures. I visited the old homesteads and took pictures there too. It seems odd that I can’t remember what jolted me into action. It’s not at all odd that I want to tell the story of my ancestors.

It’s was said to “ask them before they go.” I say tell them before they leave. It is my goal to collect all I can and share with my family. A short time ago they knew little about their heritage, but through my efforts they have learned of past generations and have been shown where some resided and where some are buried. I hope they share it with their children.

A good place to start is with Ancestry. com for very little cost one can build their family tree and search for records, such as census, birth, death, marriage, civil, newspaper articles, archives and various databases. The site is very easy to navigate and has features like having your hard work put in print, or sending you little hints of records that might match, and more often than not, your ancestors. With that said there are many other sites in which anyone can build their family tree.

I have not completed my search and therefore will share some achievements and difficulties as I contniue to move forward.

About Ann Simpson

Ann Simpson lives in Falmouth, Virginia near the Civil War Battlegrounds of Historic Fredericksburg. Most of her paranormal writing takes place in the early morning before the family wakes and the spirits rest. She loves to write and read paranormal mysteries, suspense and drama. Book one of the Dark Guests Series, The Genealogist's Guests, was published in October 2013. Ann is currently writing book two, of which she may title, Megan's Heritage, sounds great...I just came up with it. I think I'll keep it!

Posted on August 25, 2011, in Family Stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

